Info /

Editorial

If the eyes are the window to the heart, then reportage is the window to the world. Reporters are the chroniclers of the present age that you do not see on the front pages of the daily press. They illuminate what appears to be secondary, insignificant, even hidden. They make unfamiliar realities of life accessible and show us the fascinating and challenging diversity of the world. This is the fundamental prerequisite for intercultural understanding, tolerance and respect.

Reporters often travel to remote and difficult areas, in the dimness of the unspeakable and the unsaid, in the service of awareness and clarification. In the tradition of the Maltese journalist Daphne Caruana Galizia, the Slovak journalist Ján Kuciak, and the Saudi Arabian journalist Jamal Khashoggi, reporters are also intrepid seismographs and advocates who are role models for us with their courage and tenacity.

The format of reportage is increasingly becoming an indispensable guide in the ever-growing sea of fake news and biased information. As a result, reporters are becoming an important guarantor of functioning democracy.
The International Reportagen Festival Bern brings us stories. These originate from megacities, as well as from the most remote corners of the world. They are loud and softly-spoken, touching, emotional, shocking and serene. And all of them are carefully researched true stories, selected by jurors from the 12 major language regions of the world.

Become a friend of the festival! Be part of this global resonance chamber of today’s stories and let yourself be moved and inspired by reports from 30 countries around the world.

Welcome!

Info /

Editorial

Editorial

Wenn die Augen das Fenster zur Seele sind, dann sind Reportagen das Fenster zur Welt. Reporterinnen und Reporter sind die Chronistinnen und Chronisten jener Gegenwart, die nicht auf den Frontseiten der Tagespresse verhandelt wird. Sie beleuchten das scheinbar Nebensächliche, das Unbedeutende, das Verborgene. Sie machen fremde Lebensrealitäten zugänglich und vermitteln uns die faszinierende und herausfordernde Vielfalt der Erde. Dies ist die grundlegende Voraussetzung für interkulturelle Verständigung, Toleranz und Respekt.

Oft sind Reporterinnen und Reporter auf schwierigem Gelände unterwegs, im Zweilicht des Unsagbaren und Ungesagten, im Dienst von Aufrichtigkeit und Aufklärung. In der Tradition der maltesischen Journalistin Daphne Caruana Galizia, des slowakischen Journalisten Ján Kuciak und des saudi-arabischen Journalisten Jamal Kashoggi sind Reporterinnen und Reporter auch unerschrockene Seismographen und Anwältinnen, die uns mit ihrem Mut und ihrer Hartnäckigkeit Vorbilder sind.

Das Format der Reportage wird zunehmend zu einem unerlässlichen Wegweiser in dem immer grösser werdenden Meer von Fake News und tendenziös vermittelten Informationen. Dadurch werden sie zu einem wichtigen Garanten für funktionierende Demokratien.
Am Internationalen Reportagen Festival Bern werden Geschichten erzählt. Diese stammen aus Megacitys genauso wie aus und den entlegendsten Winkeln der Welt. Sie sind laut und leise, berührend, aufregend, erschütternd, heiter. Und alle sind sorgfältig recherchierte True Storys, ausgewählt von Jurys aus den 12 grossen Sprachregionen der Erde.

Werde Freund*in des Festivals! Sei Teil dieses globalen Resonanzraums erzählter Gegenwart und lass dich von Reportagen aus 30 Ländern dieser Welt bewegen und begeistern.

Herzlich willkommen!